Connection

I held the little white angel head in my hands, turning it over and over. Mary had dozens of these.

“Where did you get these from?” I asked.

“I made an impression in clay on a tomb of a little girl in one of the graveyards,” she answered.

It was a beautiful little image. Mary had then cast this image many times over and used it in multiplication over her latest piece of art work, a sculptural thing in clay.

I soon discovered that Mary had many talents. She drew wonderfully, esoteric images that were meditative and thoughtful. They had an eternal sense to them. Ars longa, vita brevis.

She assisted in the design of marvelous chap books. I’d never seen chap books before but now I am very aware of them. They are painstakingly made, in hand set type, binding hand sewn and most often made with hand made papers. They are lovely – subtle in colour and texture,  just the size that you can take them in your hand and sensually feel slightly rough against your fingers.

Her husband, Jim, did the type setting and printing.

At the end of that school year, they travelled around Europe a bit before returning home to Wisconsin. I’ve treasured the association we’ve had for many years, and yet, I lost touch with them after they moved, several years back. Posted letters at Christmas were returned. I didn’t think I ever would be able to catch up with them.

What took it into my head to do a search on Iguana Press yesterday, I do not know. I found they have a very recent web site for Iguana. And I’ve had a good long talk with Jim by e-mail. Halleluljah. Check it out!

Hope you like it:

http://www.jimescalante.net/pixaria/index.gallery.php?gid=10

Leave a Reply

