New House – the butterfly emerges from her cocoon

mr-house-6-small.jpgI looked through my posts to see when I told you about moving to a new house.

Looks like I’m remiss! I didn’t tell you.

Twelve years ago when I came to live with Mother, I realized that if I didn’t do something about it then, I would find myself without a place to stay when Mother died. So I bought a lovely place to land in, an apartment in the Fraser Valley Delta, two bedroom, filled with a soft diffuse light, surrounded by a park of rustling trees.

Here I am, twelve years later, with two thousand paintings and drawings, about five hundred of them that are framed, mostly mine, some done by others and collected by me or inherited, that have no possibility of fitting into a two bedroom apartment.

Mrs. Stepford, my lovely friend of twenty years now, heard that the house next door was coming up for sale. It’s a wee character house with a full (and dry) basement which can house my creative children (my paintings), and on the main floor, serve as gallery/show room. There are two lovely bedrooms on the upper floor, tucked in under the roof.

There is a beautifully established garden which I will need to cut back, it’s so overgrown and hides the house. I am looking forward to many pleasant hours out in the garden, digging in the dirt, transplanting, watering, painting pictures thereof, et cetera, et cetera.

One of the previous owners was a passionate gardener and planted flowering bushes like karia, forsythia, magnolia, camelia, ornamental cherry, rhododendrons, and some I don’t know the names of yet.The place is beautiful !

I’m moving to my new house over the whole month of July. I am very grateful that I can do this. My brother in law came with Heather and his big pick-up truck and has assisted me in putting up shelving and in carrying four packed truckloads of paintings and household goods. What a great brother in law!

They left on Tuesday morning. Here it is Wednesday and I have a free lance photography job, recording a conference, in Vancouver. It lasts from today to next Monday.

In between times, I have been packing, preparing my apartment for resale, trying to get it painted by a painter whom Franc found for me, in this difficult labour market. He did a fabulous job, but we had several contretemps over timing. I worked with him to get it done faster.

Monday I met with the Realtor and signed the contract for sale. There was some additional cleaning to be done, and some small final repairs. Tuesday I met with the carpet cleaner and now that is done also.

As a result, I’ve not been writing. That will have to wait. So please bear with me. There are more stories to come.

mr-house-2-small.jpg

One Response to “New House – the butterfly emerges from her cocoon”

  1. Marsha J. O'Brien Says:

    Love the home. Cozy, warm and wonderful!

Leave a Reply

